?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Melville at the Customs-House

The Confessions and Diary of an Aspergian Civil Servant/Poet

Name:
aspergerspoet
Birthdate:
29 April 1963
External Services:
  • aspergerspoet@livejournal.com
Schools:
I was born in 1963, and currently live in Columbus, OH. I have been married since 1996 to a piano/voice teacher and playwright (Stephanie), and father of a 10-year-old gifted girl (Susie) who is in the fourth grade. I work in the Claims Management department of the Industrial Commission of Ohio, where I am a Word Processing Specialist II. In my life, I have been a typesetter, proofreader, newsletter editor, projectionist, day laborer, postal clerk, secretary, dishwasher, janitor, pharmacy technician, credit investigator, and bookstore worker. I am a dropout from Ohio University in Athens. I lived the first 19 years of my life in Marietta, OH, a charming blend of DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES and DELIVERANCE.

I am a survivor of physical and emotional abuse from my parents, and am currently being treated (both in psychotherapy and with medication) for severe depression. As my moniker indicates, I also have a form of high-functioning autism which is known as Asperger's syndrome. I am in good company with this: Thomas Jefferson, Albert Einstein, Glenn Gould, and possibly Bill Gates.

I was formerly a heavy drinker, beginning in high school, but have been a teetotaler since 1998. Until 1989, I occasionally smoked marijuana. I am a heavy consumer of Diet Pepsi, but sometimes drink decaffeinated pop, especially Diet Rite. My favorite comfort foods are cherry Kellogg's Pop Tarts, Little Debbie apple pies, and animal crackers.

I treat clothes-shopping with the same enthusiasm I look forward to trips to the dentist and prostate exams. Since I can ruin clothes merely by putting them on, I shop at Family Dollar and thrift shops for clothes.

I wear bifocals.

I have had three invasive surgeries in my lifetime: tonsillectomy, plastic surgery to remove a facial birthmark, and a vasectomy.

I am allergic to Trazodone.

Statistics